On Being a Catholic TV Star!

October 3, 2011 at 1:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a television star. Actually, I wanted to be Annette Funicello on the Mickey Mouse Club. It took me a while to grasp that being fat, nerdy, and seriously near-sighted–the other kids called me “bottle-bottoms” because of the thickness of my glasses-made such a development unlikely.

I gave up too soon. In the fall of 2010, I led the program section of the Annual Assembly of Pax Christi New York Metro. Our subject was the scary intersection between the world water crisis and war. An interview on the topic was broadcast by NET, the “New Evangelization Television” of the Roman Catholic Dioceses of Brooklyn. I was very excited that my Annette Funicello side was finally being recognized.

I believe that interview is no longer on the NET website. But now I’ve been interviewed again!!  Several of us Pax Christi types were interviewed on NET’s show Currents concerning an evening Pax Christi sponsored on the documentary film The Forgotten Bomb, with the film’s director and star, Bud Ryan. The film reminds viewers of the horrors of the US bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and of the moral responsibilities for those bombings that our country has never assumed. It’s really worth watching.

The three-plus minute interview on NET provides a useful introduction to the film, with comments by Bud Ryan, and by Rosemarie Pace, Director of Pax Christi Metro New York. But be sure to watch until the end, where Marian Funicello Ronan appears. I especially hope that the various readers  of this blog who have suggested from time to time that I am not the most faithful of Catholics hang on to see and hear me, because I quote Pope Paul VI with considerable enthusiasm. I’m so happy to be a Catholic TV star!!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations, Marian!

    Like

  2. congrats– there’s been a significant void in this category (Catholic TV star) since Fulton Sheen’s demise!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

