Grief, Haiti, Steroids

January 15, 2010 at 10:45 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

From what I’ve read about blogging, you’re never supposed to vanish, but that’s what I did lately. I apologize. I think my mother’s death finally hit me, and my brain has been in a fog, not to mention my poor body, which seems to be expressing its grief by knotting up in various ways. Ugh.

You know I”m in bad shape when all I have to comment on is something I saw on the television, but here goes. In the midst of the early reports about the horrific earthquake in Haiti, the local news actually included a segment on Mark McGwire having finally admitted using steroids. Picture me screaming “I don’t give a @#$%!” at the screen.

But as part of the coverage of the scandal, the news ran a series shots of other athletes who have either confessed to or are strongly suspected of using steroids, human growth hormone, etc. I paid attention to this part, because all the athletes were male except one, the Olympic runner, Marion Jones. And what do you think? Marion Jones, a woman of color, was the only one of them who went to jail for her behavior. Apparently she lied when she was interviewed by the authorities and was prosecuted for it. McGwire, however, when he was called before Congress and asked about his steroid use, simply changed the subject, and they let him get away with it. No doubt his lawyer coached him. The moral of this story is, if you’re a woman of color, do not use steroids, or you’ll go to jail.

And on that happy note, I leave you.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. and marion jones was still breastfeeding her baby!!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

