The Pencil Case: Recession in Microcosm

September 16, 2009 at 12:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I have decided to get organized. To get my purse organized, to be precise.

I have this notion that the way to do this is to buy two pencil cases and put my make-up and whatnot in them. Then I can transfer them easily from purse to purse. Sounds pretty simple, doesn’t it? I’d like the cases to be four inches by eight inches, more or less, with a zipper.  And made of plastic, so I can wash the make-up etc. off them periodically. I’d like them to cost $2.00 each. You probably can envision such a pencil case. Many of us carried one to school as kids.

To find such a pencil case, I began by checking out local stationery stores–you know, Staples, Office Depot, etc. Well, there are cloth pencil cases for $5.00 and 8.5 by 11 pencil cases with holes punched into them to go in a ring binder for $8.00.  And biggish plastic boxes for pencils, costing $9.99

So then I went to the web. Thus far I have not found a $2.00 plastic pencil case. But there are dozens, perhaps hundreds, of other possibilities, ranging upwards from that Staples’ $5.00 model to the skies. Some of my favorites are the various Case-it (r) Z-Zipper 2 in 1 Zipper Binders for $21.99 each and the Kipling Freedom Pen Case/Cosmetic Bag for $19.50 to $22.00. But my absolute favorite is the Kate Spade Jane Street Becca Pencil Case. It’s Kelly green leather, it has pencils and an eraser in it, and it costs $75.00.

If anybody has any questions about how the American economy went down the tubes, I recommend they go shopping for a pencil case.

PS. I have to confess, I finally did find a plastic pencil case. It cost $1.12 at the 99 cent store around the corner. It has a picture of Hanna Montana on it and comes with a little ruler and an eraser. But it’s flimsy and won’t last long.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Marian, I laughed so hard when I read your story of the pencil case search. You are so funny! It just struck me, as I perused the many comments…I needed that laugh! I fully agree with you – I’ll keep my eye out for a longer lasting one, while I am shopping.

    I also read many of your articles – they are very interesting, and well written. I learned a lot, and will be back to read more.

    Good luck, Alexa

    Like


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

